Capital city: Bratislava
Currency: Euro
Official language: Slovak
Population: 5.500.000

The Slovak Republic is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It was formed on 1 January 1993 by the division of Czechoslovakia. The constitution of the Slovak Republic was signed on 3 September 1992 in the Knights' Hall of Bratislava Castle. Slovakia borders the Czech Republic, Austria, Hungary, Ukraine and Poland. Since 1 May 2004, Slovakia has been a member of the European Union, since 21 December 2007 a member of the Schengen Area, and since 1 January 2009 a member of the Eurozone.

Slovakia is proud of its rich folklore and folk traditions. Each region, city, and municipality has a unique character and folklore – costumes, music, songs, architecture, customs, traditions, dances and dialects. Folklore festivals organised all around Slovakia serve to present the folk customs of individual regions.